Saturday, July 31, 2010

No seeding in Asian Games – Tolentino

INTEGRATED Cycling Federation of the Philippines (PhilCycling) President and Tagaytay City Mayor Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino clarified that there would be no seeded cyclists for the Asian Games in Guangzhou.

Reacting on a report that there are two cyclists who could be seeded in the quadrennial meet, Tolentino told The Manila Times Friday that it is not fair to all cyclists who sacrificed a lot if he will allow an “instant entry” to the RP cycling team.

“Well anyone can be included in the line-up but if they don’t proceed to the process of qualification, so why I issue license on them?” said Tolentino, also the secretary general of National Chess Federation of the Philippines.

“That’s why we have an Asian Games qualifying race,” said Tolentino, referring to the recently concluded track events of National Cycling Unification in Amoranto Veledrome and next week’s road race and mountain bike in Tagaytay City.

“It would not be fair to everybody if I will allow it.”

The two cyclists identified as Filipino-American Jeremy Moore and two-time Southeast Asian Games gold winner (2005 and 2007) Alfie Catalan may possibly become seeded, according to Col. Alberto Taberdo of the other cycling group.

But Tolentino, who is recognized by the Union Cycliste International (UCI) and Asian Cycling Confederation, has turned down the idea.

“Fil-Australian Apryl Eippinger came from Australia just to qualify, so I’m hoping other riders would also realize the importance of this qualification race,” he said.

So far, there are already 15 qualified cyclists for the Asian Games.

Nilo Estayo, Reinhard Gorantes and George Oconer will comprise the Men’s Olympic Sprint; Reinhard Gorantes, Lloyd Lucien Reynante, Mark Julius Bonzo and John Mier will carry the torch in the 4-kilometer Individual Time Trial (ITT) and Men’s Team Pursuit.

Lady riders Apryl Eppinger, Maritess Bitbit and Annalisa Dysangco took the women’s slots as they are adjuged the bests in the 500-meter ITT, 3-km Individual Pursuit and Points Race.

Others are Warren Davadilla, Arnold Marcelo, Jan Paul Morales, Tomas Martinez and Ronnel Hualda.

Digg Google Bookmarks reddit Mixx StumbleUpon Technorati Yahoo! Buzz DesignFloat Delicious BlinkList Furl

0 comments: on "No seeding in Asian Games – Tolentino"

Post a Comment