Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Cycling officials may seed 2 ‘non-qualifiers’

Philippine cycling officials are planning to seed two players who did not compete in the qualifing races to the national team to the Asian Games.
Cycling officials are reportedly considering automatically putting Alfie Catalan and US-based Fil-American Jeremy Moore in the RP team because they believe these two have more chances of winning medals that those who topped the qualifying races.
Catalan is a two-time Southeast Asian gold medalist (2005 Manila and 2007 Thailand) in the 4-kilometer Individual Time Trial event, while the Houston, Texas-based Moore, 26, reportedly can be counted upon to contend in the 40-km road race.
Catalan could not be available for the qualifying races because of his Army training requirements, while Moore is busy with his studies.
Both said they would be available for the Asian Games if called upon to join the team.
Should they be included, this would violate a standing order that no player will gain berths to the RP Asian Games team unless one competes and qualifies.
A cycling official said no firm decision has been made and said the possible inclusion of the two athletes is only aproposal.
"Although we have already set the rules and policies here, the POC said if we can justify why the riders (who did not participate in the qualifying) should be exempted because of their records, then we can do it," said Integrated Cycling's Col. Arnolfo Taberdo, who is also the commissar of the qualifying event. "Perhaps, we will include them in the list (of qualifiers) and from there we will deliberate."
Some athletes who requested not to be identified said including the two athletes would be unfair to those who raced in the qualifying because some of them also had to give up previous commitments.
For instance, Fil-Australian Apryl Eippinger declined to join an Australian meet to compete in the qualifying races. Eippinger topped the women's 500m ITT on Monday.
Meanwhile, Romel Hualda secured a slot in the RP Asian Games team after topping the Sprint (200m) event by clocking 14.68 seconds. Ricky Calla joined him in the team after finishing second (19.16 seconds).
Arnold Marcelo, meanwhile, ruled the Keirin (5 laps) event in four minutes and 79 seconds while John Paul Morales came in second.
In the Point Race (50 laps), Warren Padilla ruled the event by posting 40 points. He was followed by Tomas Martinez who posted 30.

Digg Google Bookmarks reddit Mixx StumbleUpon Technorati Yahoo! Buzz DesignFloat Delicious BlinkList Furl

0 comments: on "Cycling officials may seed 2 ‘non-qualifiers’"

Post a Comment