Saturday, January 22, 2011

Ritu axed, Nary re-appointed captain

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) axed Ritu Kanaujiya, who captained the national women’s cricket team in last two events and re-appointed Nary Thapa.
Nary Thapa has been reappointed national captain.
Ritu and three other national cricketers from the Asian Games squad did not find space in 18-member squad for the ACC Women’s Twenty20 Championship to be held in Kuwait from February 18 to 25.
Melina Rayamajhi, Binu Buda Magar and Maya Rawat were also axed from the national team.
Nary, who had captained Nepal in past, was relieved of captaincy on discipline ground for the ACC Women’s Twenty20 in 2009 and Asian Games.
“The performance in Asian Games was far below our expectations,” chief selection Bijaya Sharma said while announcing the team. “Nary has been re-appointed captain in view of her captaincy during the ACC U-19 which we won.”
Sharma also said that the decision to re-appoint Nary was taken considering improvements she had shown in discipline, game and captaincy.
Meanwhile, CAN informed that the team will travel to Pakistan for four to five matches against Pakistan’s national women’s team in Lahore. Pakistan is the winner of the Asian Games gold.
CAN will pick the final 14 after the completion of the closed-camp training beginning January 23.
The squad: Nary Thapa (captain), Rubina Chhetri (vice-captain), Manisha Rawal, Madhu Thapa, Sita Rana Magar, Khina Thapa Magar, Indu Verma, Janaki Bhatta, Rashmi Sharma, Sarita Magar, Karuna Bhandari, Neera Rajopadhyay, Mamta Thapa Magar, Shova Ale, Sita Shahi, Sonu Khadka, Manita Gautam, Rekha Rawal and Arun Aryal (coach).

Digg Google Bookmarks reddit Mixx StumbleUpon Technorati Yahoo! Buzz DesignFloat Delicious BlinkList Furl

0 comments: on "Ritu axed, Nary re-appointed captain"

Post a Comment